Catholic Near East Welfare Association (CNEWA) has been a lifeline for the poor throughout the Middle East, Northeast Africa, India and Eastern Europe for more than 90 years.

Founded by Pope Pius XI in 1926, CNEWA works for, through and with the Eastern Catholic churches to identify needs and implement solutions.

From forming priests to serve the people of God in Egypt to providing irrigation to farmers in southern Lebanon ó from teaching needy children in Ethiopia to educating sisters in India ó from providing emergency relief to Syrian Christian refugees to counseling for war-scarred children in Gaza, CNEWA connects you to your brothers and sisters in need. Together, we build up the church, affirm human dignity, alleviate poverty, encourage dialogue ó and inspire hope.

ATS pro Terra Sancta is the non-profit, non-governmental organization (NGO) serving the Custody of the Holy Land, wherever there are Franciscan friars in the Middle East.

The projects of Association pro Terra Sancta are aimed at providing support and training for the Christian communities, preserving and enhancing the Holy Places, and carrying humanitarian aid to those in need in the Holy Land.

The activities of ATS pro Terra Sancta are based on the method of encounter with the other, regardless of religious affiliation, social condition and ethnic origin. The Holy Places are the origin of our faith and our culture; this is why we wish to offer everyone the opportunity to cooperate with us to safeguard them, keeping the Christian memory in the Holy Land alive.

To help means to cherish, to love, to remember and to live a lasting bond with the Holy Land.


The winged cross is symbolic of life:

The crossbars intersect as a midpoint signifying the 4 corners of the world
meeting at lifeís center

This empty cross signifies Jesusí victory over death

The vine and grapes symbolize the life generated from the cross which
was otherwise an instrument of depth


The concept of the cross derives from where the Chaldean lived.

Chaldeans were among the first Christian to use the cross as a symbol of Jesusí
sacrifice for all humanity


Usually includes a lattice pattern, common in local art, represents everlasting life

The square/circular base represents the Ark of the Covenant

Both the Ark and the Cross bear the presence of God


This vertical cross is comprised of equal lengths with three points/flourishes at each end

The twelve points of the cross represent the 12 apostles

East set of three flourishes represents the Trinity

The circle in the center represents Godís eternal love for us



There are 3 distinctive bars:

The top signifies where Jesus name was written

The middle represents the crossbar for Jesusís arms

The slanted bottom signifies Jesusí descent to the dead and
resurrection to heaven


Depicts the Holy Trinity

Whereas the Latin cross bears a crucified Jesus, the emptiness
represents Resurrection

The descending dove symbolizes the Holy Spirit

The lotus flower/leaves symbolize God the Father, Creator of all

©2010 All rights reserved.     Chicago Web Design